FourWheelForum  

Go Back   FourWheelForum > Motorcycles & Streetbikes! > The Honda CA95 / Benly 150 Restoration

The Honda CA95 / Benly 150 Restoration The little brother to the CA160 in our family of Hondas

Unread 11-20-2012, 04:19 PM

Default New Benly Owner, Many Restoration Questions

Hey all, I just bought what I think is an early '63 CA95 and I've got a bunch of questions. One of the main ones is "Is it restorable?" I bought it from a kid up the street who was using it as Haloween decoration. Please excuse me if some of these questions seem pretty basic; I'm new to motorcycles. I've got plenty of experience with four wheel vehicles, but I'm just starting out with the two wheel ones. So, after doing some reading, let the questions begin!

1) The fuel petcock - I read plenty on this, the main question here would be is this rebuildable or should I not bother (the boogering up of the bottom bowl wasn't by me!

2) What am I missing here? Are these specific to year or will any '59-'66 cover work? Is the chain readily available?

3) Am I missing any parts glaringly obvious from the engine (exhaust is separate from the bike, but there).

4) I didn't find a frame number, but it looks like there were at least two coats of paint over the factory paint, so I'm going to assume it's just obscured. I should be looking for it here, right?

5) Overview of the bike - it looks pretty solid, but it it worth restoring or would I be dollars ahead starting with something complete and running?

6) The engine doesn't want to turn over using the kickstarter, so I assume I'll need to wind up doing a complete overhaul. Are there any parts like the petcock that I'd be better off re-using since they're too hard to find?

7) The transmission won't shift out of first - could that be due to a clutch issue? The handlebars are disassembeled currently, so I can't work the clutch. Would this keep me from being able to shift?